Fanfiction

Okay… well, I probably made a mistake by putting myself on Monday, but oh well. Today I’m going to post about fanfiction (yay!)

First off… well, I’ve been really getting back into it now. There’s just one problem; IT’S NO GOOD. I go to fanfiction.net, go under whichever fandom I want to read, and… I get sick to my stomach. It seems that half of the ones I go on, the entire first page is basically “Enter your own character!” (That’s never good… Mary Sues and Gary Stus live in them…). As one of the writer’s on this blog once said it, “it’s like panning for gold”. And trust me, the gold is rare.

That doesn’t mean that I’ve given up entirely. I’ve been taking to offering beta services to the ones who obviously don’t know how to write at all (a.k.a. they just post one massive paragraph that’s about a page long and then beg for reviews… it’s pitiful, really). So far, no one has accepted.

I also personally write fanfiction… by that, I mean I try to write fanfiction. Of course, sometimes it’s really depressing, because I always feel that I have absolutely no writing talent whatsoever and everything I’ve ever written should be burned in a hole in Antarctica. Merp.

Okay… that got kind of rambly, but hey! I wrote this in about five minutes, due to the fact that I have absolutely no idea what else to post… next week will be better. Promise.

About Kippe

I'm just your average teenager. I have a love of music and writing. When it comes to writing, I write High Fantasy. You can usually catch me daydreaming about wars between dragons, elves, dwarves, and other fantastical creatures. View all posts by Kippe

2 responses to “Fanfiction

  • cookme25

    I wrote fanfiction for awhile. It was my gateway into writing. I gave up because I didn’t think it was any good. I agree though, new fanfiction that’s good is hard to find. It may be because the new show year hasn’t started yet. I mostly stick to author’s I know and like and what they like.

  • coffeebeans

    I’ve never even read any fanfiction. And I’m terrified of writing it. O_O I think I have my first real phobia- fanfiction. Scary, right? -__-

Leave a Reply

