Crossing the Line: Sci-fi and Fantasy

I have a quick announcement! From now on (or at least a lot of the time) all of our weeks will have a theme. This weeks theme is *drumroll* Sci-fi!

(Quick note: The rest of this is entirely my opinion. I know others who would say differently about some of the stuff I have to say.)

Now. To the point of this post. I don’t do sci-fi. At all. I don’t know why, but my friends know that I write fantasy, therefore they think that I can write sci-fi stories for them. This isn’t the case.

You see, in my opinion there is a distinct line between sci-fi and fantasy. For example; sci-fi in my mind is generally very technologically advanced, generally involves other planets/aliens, and does not have magic. Fantasy, on the other hand, is generally not very advanced (I mean, they still have the wheel and whatnot, but you won’t see them driving around in cars or surfing around the internet unless it’s Urban Fantasy or some other sub-genre; I write High/Epic Fantasy), it generally takes place on a single planet, and magic is almost a necessity.

But this is just comparing hard sci-fi to Epic Fantasy. There’s also a light kind of sci-fi; this generally involves super heroes, or mutants. These could very definitely be close to fantasy: who’s to say that their superpowers aren’t actually magic? Who’s to say that it wasn’t magic mixed with some machine that got them to where they are? No one, that’s who. And there’s also steam punk, and urban fantasy, both sub-genres. They’ve definitely involved some sci-fi technology in those.

Um… I had a thought track going. But it disappeared. Oh well, I’m sure you’ve read enough of my ramblings to know that it wouldn’t be that great anyway. So, until next time!

Hunger

About Kippe

I'm just your average teenager. I have a love of music and writing. When it comes to writing, I write High Fantasy. You can usually catch me daydreaming about wars between dragons, elves, dwarves, and other fantastical creatures. View all posts by Kippe

6 responses to “Crossing the Line: Sci-fi and Fantasy

  • Lauriloth

    Wow. It is like you took words from my mind and plastered them into your post! Lol! I hear ya! I write high/epic fantasy as well, it is my life; sci-fi is…not. I don’t like sci-fi. I like sword fights, and archery, and horses, and medieval settings, not space, starships, laserguns, ect. Even though I write fantasy, there is NO way I can write sci-fi. O.o

    Hi-5 for fantasy!

  • Lectin Gaezat

    And I sit here going.

    “Oh dear… My opinions might be a tad strange.”

  • rieishere

    Lec, post your post tomorrow and then we’ll decide if you’re weird or not. My post is probably going to be a rambling of stuff from my grandma’s series and other such alternate history-type sci-fi. And I’ll probably have the strangest views on sci-fi because I have kind of a behind-the-scenes look at it because of living with my grandma. 🙂 And probably some of the differences between truly ‘hard’ sci-fi and the alternate history kind of sci-fi.

  • jotterofnotes

    “Sufficiently advanced science is indistinguishable from magic.”

Leave a Reply

