Procrastination and the Dark Side

Hi.

I’m lockpique: the newbubble here.  At any rate, I decided that I didn’t have nearly enough things to do this month, and so the rest of this group graciously accepted me onto their blog…to write about writing.

I’ve done my fair share of writing: More than some and not as much as others.  I’m the founder of my school’s creative writing club.  I’ve done nanowrimo a few times, and I signed up for screnzy exactly once – and then spent the rest of the month reading webcomics.

I did a really brief outline once for a script of a sequel to a story that I hadn’t finished yet.  It’s still unfinished and lying mouldering in the Documents folder of my computer.

So I’m not exactly super qualified to talk about script writing – not nearly as much as I would be to talk about procrastination, say, or webcomics.

The main points of advice, though, seem to stretch across disciplines.  In scripts as much as stories, it’s advised that you be concise when you can and lyrical when you can’t.

It’s also generally advised that you don’t set yourself impossible goals (My script will win an Oscar, or go to Sundance) because while it is certainly conceivable, it won’t happen on a first draft or even, likely, on a second.  Setting yourself impossible goals leads to procrastination.

Procrastination leads to fear.  Fear leads to typing furiously at 3 am.  Typing furiously at 3 am leads to anger, anger leads to hate, and hate leads to the dark side.

Writing scripts, just like writing stories, gets easier when you do it a lot.  Type when you’re tired.  Type when you’re bored.  Type when you’re angry at your roommate for waking you up at 5am when you were writing until 3.

And finally, when you’re writing scripts or stories, read.  Or watch, in the case of movie scripts.  Reading opens your mind to other perspectives, viewpoints, methods of writing.  It gives you a sort of template to base your work off of: not plotwise, but in the finer details.  The finer details like how an author will work a transition into a piece, how they control rising emotion, how they set scene and character.  Reading and watching other authors’ work is vital for your own development as a writer.

I will be the first to cheerfully admit that I don’t follow most of these all of the time: especially the one about procrastination.  I’m a chronic procrastinator.  Most people who know me know this.

But I do think that these are really important, especially if you’re planning to do screnzy this year.  Which I do recommend.

And with that, I have three items of homework to complete tonight, if I don’t want to procrastinate my way to the Dark Side on Monday morning.

-Lockpique

About K. Moss

Should be sleeping View all posts by K. Moss

Leave a Reply

