But I don’t Wanna Write That Part!

It’s a struggle that all writers face at one point or another. No, I don’t mean writer’s block. I mean The Middle.

The Middle is generally the place where writer’s tend to slack off a bit in their writing. And that also happens to be the same place where readers tend to zone out a little bit, so oftentimes we can get away with this.

Frankly, The Middle is always the hardest part to write. It’s that part of the story where sometimes you feel as if you’re pouring all of your energy into your writing and yet making little or no headway at all. You’re not quite sure of where you’re headed, just knowing that you want to hit that seemingly unattainable ending. At times, you can’t even see that light at the end of the tunnel. You’re characters are beginning to get on your nerves, and more than once you’ve found yourself writing little side stories where your characters die slow, painful deaths. You might even skip to the end or abandon the story altogether.

I’m here to tell you that this is normal. This isn’t you being a bad writer. During NaNo, this is the part where I generally want to abandon my novel and just write something else. But trust, me, as soon as you get to the end of the tunnel, you’ll feel a sense of accomplishment; and a second writing is almost always easier, because you’ll know what you want The Middle to be about.

So don’t fret. Persevere through that boring middle part, and wow us all with what you produce.

Hunger

About Kippe

I'm just your average teenager. I have a love of music and writing. When it comes to writing, I write High Fantasy. You can usually catch me daydreaming about wars between dragons, elves, dwarves, and other fantastical creatures. View all posts by Kippe

One response to “But I don’t Wanna Write That Part!

Leave a Reply

