*sighs* Poetry

 

I’ve stumbled upon this blog recently, and it’s gotten me really interested in poetry.

Before I read that blog, I had barely looked at poetry; the only time I had written it was the time I was forced to for English class, and I’d rarely read any of it willingly. I knew there was something about lines and feet and meters, but I figured that most poems just rhymed with the exceptions being Free-verse or Haiku, and that was that.

Only now do I realize how wrong I was. Poetry is really something deeper than I realized. It comes from the soul, and is really quite beautiful. The different types of poems; from Luc Bat, Diagonal Acrostic, Sestina, or just a simple Couplet, are really quite amazing and can be quite complex.

I’m not claiming to know a lot about poetry (or even writing prose, for that matter). But that’s something that I definitely want to change. I feel that with writing and gaining skill in poetry, I’ll also gain skill at writing prose, which is still going to remain one of my more prominent art forms.

I apologize for the short post, but I almost forgot about this and I had to write a little quickie.

Kippe

 

About Kippe

I'm just your average teenager. I have a love of music and writing. When it comes to writing, I write High Fantasy. You can usually catch me daydreaming about wars between dragons, elves, dwarves, and other fantastical creatures. View all posts by Kippe

6 responses to “*sighs* Poetry

Leave a Reply

